Side effects may include EVERYTHING

static1-squarespace

I’m on Lupron at the moment (as well as estrogen patches), gearing up for a frozen embryo transfer, and once again I’ve been basically wrecked. Though, as always, when I can’t manage to haul my ass to the gym, fall asleep at 8pm nearly every night, and feel like all around crap I can’t seem to figure out why (spoiler alert: its the meds).

But I mean, it’s such a small dose of Lupron. It can’t possibly be responsible for how bad I feel, right? Right???? So I finally decided to look up Lupron’s side effects just to know if some of the weirdness I’ve been experiencing is actually med related (spoiler alert: yes, always and forever) and all I can say is, good lord. I’ve bolded the the side effects I’ve thus far experienced.

  • redness/burning/stinging/pain/bruising at the injection site,
  • hot flashes (flushing),
  • increased sweating,
  • night sweats,
  • tiredness,
  • headache,
  • upset stomach,
  • nausea,
  • diarrhea,
  • constipation,
  • stomach pain,
  • breast swelling or tenderness,
  • acne,
  • joint/muscle aches or pain,
  • trouble sleeping (insomnia),
  • reduced sexual interest(note: but doesn’t all of IVF kind of lead to a reduction in sexual interest?)
  • vaginal discomfort/dryness/itching/discharge,
  • vaginal bleeding,
  • swelling of the ankles/feet,
  • increased urination at night,
  • dizziness,
  • breakthrough bleeding in a female child during the first 2 months of leuprolide treatment,
  • weakness,
  • chills,
  • clammy skin,
  • skin redness,
  • itching or scaling,
  • testicle pain,
  • impotence,
  • depression,
  • increased growth of facial hair, or
  • memory problems. (note: gotta love how they end on a high note)
Leave a Reply

